Self Driving Cars in 2040?

Expert members from the world’s largest professional association for the advancement of technology, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), believe that 75% of all cars on the road will be autonomous. Praised members of the IEEE believe that driverless cars will be the catalyst for changing forms of transportation from what we know it as today. Intersections, traffic flow, highways and the necessity for driver’s licenses will change over the course of the next 28 years.

For cars to have the technology to communicate with each other, people can only imagine how traffic free intersections will be as well as how highway travel will change with driverless cars. The IEEE believes that even if everyone doesn’t own an autonomous vehicle, all cars will be able to share the roadways by having designated lanes for each vehicle to streamline traffic. IEEE Senior member an professor of Computer Engineering at the University of Parma in Italy, Dr. Alberto Broggi believes that by 2040, it would be possible to safely maintain speed limits of up to 100 mph.

There is also the scenario that no one will need a license because no one will be physically driving cars. Sharing cars will be more common and useful because people of all ages will be able to utilize cars. Even though there is a possibility that this will not be our exact future, the IEEE thinks that it’s a good bet that this is the future were going to get.

“Drivers and passengers are hesitant to believe in the technology enough to completely hand over total control. Car manufacturers have already started to incorporate automated features, including parallel parking assistance, automatic braking systems, and drowsy driver protection to help slowly ease into utilizing driverless technology. Over the next 28 years, use of more automated technologies will spark a snowball effect of acceptance and driverless vehicles will dominate the road,” stated by Jefferey Miller, IEEE Member and Associate Professor in the Computer Systems Engineering department at the University of Alaska.