5 All Time Best Mercedes-Benz Cars

Mercedes-Benz is well known for its three-pointed star logo and it’s one of the most recognizable emblems in the car industry. People love to own both the classic models and the company’s current releases. Mercedes-Benz was founded in June of 1926. Here is the top 5 best Mercedes-Benz of all time.

1954 – 1957 Mercedes-Benz 300SL Gull-Wing Coup

In 1954 the 300SL was introduced as the first iteration of the SL-Class (Sport Light). It was the world’s first production fuel-injected model supplying a 3.0L overhead cam straight-6 that produced 215 horsepower and a top speed of 161 miles per hour. It was the fastest car of its time. The car featured distinctive gull-wing doors and is still coveted by collectors today.

1967 – 1971 280SL “Pagoda”

The second generation of the SL-Class was a hit as well. It would become the best selling of the Pagodas. It featured a 2.8L inline six-cylinder, which put out 170 horsepower. Top speed would reach 124 miles per hour. Suspension in the 280SL was retuned slightly to afford more comfort ability, so it didn’t have the same handling as previous SLs. The hubcaps matched the body color giving the cars a unique look.

1979 – Present G-Class

The G-Class, also known as the G-Wagen, is a four-wheel drive luxury SUV. First developed as a military vehicle, it started offering a civilian version in 1979. It’s off-road capability means it faces very little competition. While the Land Rover can go off-road, it’s more tailored for on-road. The G-Class also has a unique look with its boxy shape and flashy colors. The vehicle is popular with movie stars and rappers. The G-Class has stood the test of time, selling for almost 40 years.

2010 – 2015 GLK

The GLK is Mercedes-Ben best-selling mid-size SUV. It would go from 0 – 60 in 5.7 seconds and could reach a top speed of 132 miles per hour. Safety features included 11-way air bags and Attention Assist. With 19-inch wheels, a luxurious cabin, and a rear spoiler and dual exhaust system, the GLK was the perfect balance of precision and passion. In 2016 the GLK was given a new look, new engine, and a new name. It would be known now as the GLC-Class, which is based on the same platform as the C-Class sedan.

2010 – 2015 SLS AMG

Car buffs like Jay Leno have found this car to be worth collecting, so it’s not surprising it makes the list. The SLS AMG was a limited production supercar featuring gull-wing doors and aluminum chassis and body shell. The gull-wing version of the SLS AMG has won design awards including the 2010 red dot “best of the best” award. It is also the only car to have won the Gold Design Award of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Mercedes-Benz has a long history that has featured impressive cars from the start. Mercedes-Benz has won awards such as: “World Luxury Car” in 2014 with the S-Class, in 2012 the S 250 CDI BlueEFFIECIENCY was the winner in the “World Green Car” category, and in 2015 the C-Class was awarded the “World Car of the Year.” They definitely live up to their slogan “The best or nothing.”